Of Failed relationships

I remember the very moment that much I can tell

When the one did I adore

Become of whom did I abhor

After being free from the spell

That placed upon me she did so well

Twas not this spring but the one last

That alone I was to the core

Unaware for me what was in store

A magic that upon was cast

To be agreeable over sighting the contrast

Alone I sat in dim lit bar at a table

Toasting to beside me an empty chair once more

One after one did down I my throat pour

To the dys-proof of the happily ever after fable

To the apparent applause of the sports crowd on the bar’s cable

Hour upon hour did my dreary’d celebrate pass

To any who near’d snidely did I roar

Of the fallacies of love and its lore

So much so did I bear no witness to the lass

Who enter’d that soon enough attend religiously would I like mass

She sat down beside saying she had heard my rant

Patted my hand as she said that though my heart be sore

But hardly such was a reason to be this much of a bore

Because though wish’d annul’d to can’t

The emotions a person feels are akin to the strength of an elephant

At first did I guffaw at the notion so rich

I should have pointed to the door

Wallowing deep in my anti-implore

But instead I accused her of being a bitch

In swallowing the Hallmark sales pitch

Through out my growl’d position of curt

Like time upon time before

The cured poison of amor

Despite my guard harsh and alert

Did into my heart itself insert

Consider of the disgust of which I spoke

Of the emotional mutilation and gore

Of diseased mind curse by a vampiric whore

Yet in the late morn when did I awoke

Beside me she lay as the punch line of life’s bitter joke

To me again did open Heaven’s gate

Of her I was a ravenous carnivore

Each command or wish I could not ignore

To please and fulfil her til a smile of sate

All for the title of being her mate

Months pass’d quick in passion’s bright

Til the time came to my every chore

Where response to the effort was poor

Though as hard as I might

Cold wrapped ‘round me instead of her each night

“Such a loser you are” she said

Ten times day – I kept score

And with each did the rosy hue into it tore

No matter how soft did I tread

It would be met with “I wish you were dead”

I knew once again that want of me did best

Fallen for of what had been had in yore

Let go without knowing it anew I would restore

Gone is she on a better’s quest

Left am I with emptiness within my chest

I remember the very moment that much I can tell

When the one did I adore

Become of whom did I abhor

After being free from the spell

That placed upon me she did so well….

3 thoughts on “Of Failed relationships

Leave a Reply

